Swachh Bharat

In Focus

  • Aircraft Accident Investigation Bureau

    Section 7 of the Aircraft Act 1934 empowers the Government of India to make rules for investigation of accidents arising out of or in the course of the navigation in or over India of any aircraft, or anywhere of aircraft registered in India. As per the Act and in conformity with Article 26 of the Convention on International Civil Aviation, earlier the Air Safety Directorate of DGCA was carrying out the duties and responsibilities regarding investigation of aircraft accident and incidents. This was governed by the Aircraft Rules 1937.

    In accordance with Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) issued by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and to provide independence of investigation function from the regulatory function, the Government of India decided to establish a Bureau independent of the DGCA.

    Based on ICAO SARPs and the Indian Civil Aviation scenario in mind, the Aircraft (Investigation of Accidents and Incidents) Rules, 2012 were formulated and notified through a Gazette Notification. In accordance with these Rules and for the purposes of carrying out investigation into accidents, serious incidents and incidents; the Government of India set up a Bureau in the Ministry of Civil Aviation on 30th July 2012, known as the Aircraft Accident Investigation Bureau (AAIB) of India.

    In accordance with ICAO Annex 13, Aircraft (Investigation of Accidents and Incidents) Rules 2012 were amended in 2017 and AAIB was designated as an “Attached Office” of the Ministry of Civil Aviation. Presently, Investigation work is being carried out as per amended Aircraft (Investigation of Accidents and Incidents) Rules 2017 read with the Aircraft (Investigation of Accidents and Incidents) Amendment rules, 2021. AAIB has been mandated for immediate and unrestricted access to all relevant evidence from any agency / organisation without seeking prior consent from judicial bodies or other Government authorities.

    For more information visit AAIB Website

  • Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India

    Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India (AERA) AERA, was established by the Government of India vide notification No. GSR 317(E) dated 12th May 2009 as a statutory body of Government of India. The Parliament of India enacted an Act called “The Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India Act, 2008” (hereinafter to be referred as the “Act”). The said Act envisages the establishment of a statutory authority called the Airports Economic Regulatory Authority (hereinafter referred to as the “AERA”) to regulate tariff for the aeronautical services, determine other airport charges for services rendered at major airports and to monitor the performance standards of such airports. The provisions of the said Act came into force w.e.f. 1st September, 2009.

    The functions of AERA, in respect of major airports, are specified in section 13 of the Act, which are as below:

    • To determine the tariff for aeronautical services taking into consideration the capital expenditure incurred and timely investment in the improvement of airport facilities.
    • The service provided, its quality and other relevant factors.
    • The cost for improving efficiency.
    • Economic and viable operation of major airports.
    • The concession offered by the Central Government in any agreement or memorandum of understanding or otherwise, and
    • Any other factor which may be relevant for the purpose of the Act.
    • Determine the amount of the development fees.
    • Determine the amount of the passengers’ service fee levied under Rule 88 of the Aircraft Rules, 1937 made under the Aircraft Act, 1934.
    • Monitor the set performance standards relating to quality, continuity and reliability of service as may be specified by the Central Government or any authority authorized by it in this behalf.
    • Call for any such information as may be necessary to determine the tariff for aeronautical services, and
    • Perform such other functions relating to tariff, as may be entrusted to it by the Central Government or as may be necessary to carry out the provisions of the Act.

    Today, Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India plays a vital role in fostering a healthy competition amongst all Major Airports, encouraging investment in airport facilities, protection of reasonable interests of users, operation of efficient, economic and viable airports through regulations of tariff for aero nautical services/activities and also monitors performance standards at Major Airports.

    For more information visit AERA Website

  • Rajiv Gandhi National Aviation University

    Rajiv Gandhi National Aviation University (a Central University) is India’s first National Aviation University established under act of Parliament, 2013. The University campus is fully operational at Fursatganj Airfield under the direct administrative control Ministry of Civil Aviation, Government of India. Our aim is to become “UGC of Aviation in India”.

    NAU is co-located with Indira Gandhi Rashtriya Uran Akademi (aka National Flying Academy) which is imparts Commercial Pilot Training for over 35 years and has a fleet of 24 aircraft. That makes it a unique combination of a University and a Flying Training Organization complimenting each other, very few such combination in the world.

    RGNAU has full time University Officers and their contact details are given below

    Acting Vice Chancellor : Shri Amber Dubey
    Acting Registrar : Smt Garima Singh


    Rajiv Gandhi National Aviation University
    (under Ministry of Civil Aviation, Government of India)
    Fursatganj Airfield, Amethi, UP 229302
    Phone: +91 535 270 4901
    Delhi (Office)
    Rajiv Gandhi Bhawan,
    Aurobindo Marg, Opp Safdarjung Airport
    New Delhi